City of Stolen Magic

Nazneen Ahmed Pathak

$21.00

An action-packed, inclusive and breathtakingly magical middle-grade adventure, for fans of THE UNADOPTABLES and THE GIRL WHO STOLE AN ELEPHANT

A spellbinding, epic and heart-racing magical adventure from an exquisite new storytelling talent.

'An unexpected gem of a story . . . A stellar setting, a gut-punch of a twist, and an unforgettable heroine. This has all the hallmarks of classic children's storytelling' - Nizrana Farook author, The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

'A wonderful writer who paints a thoroughly convincing heroine' - The Daily Telegraph

India, 1855. The British rule, and all across the country, Indian magic is being stamped out. More terrifying still, people born with magic are being snatched from their homes. Rumor is that they are being taken across the sea - to England - by the all-powerful, sinister Company.

When Chompa's home is attacked and her mother viciously kidnapped, Chompa - born with powerful and dangerous magic that she has always been forbidden from using - must travel to the smoky, bustling streets of East London in search of her. But Chompa will discover far more treachery in London than she had bargained for - and will learn that every act of her rare magic comes with a price . . .

'A gripping and spellbinding fantasy woven together with threads of magic, secrets and colonial history . . . An incredible cast of characters and a truly multicultural Victorian London that we don't see often enough' - Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author, Dadaji's Paintbrush

'A wonderfully vibrant debut . . . A vivid magical adventure' - Jasbinder Bilan, author, Ash and the Spirit Bird

City of Stolen Magic cover image

$21.00

An action-packed, inclusive and breathtakingly magical middle-grade adventure, for fans of THE UNADOPTABLES and THE GIRL WHO STOLE AN ELEPHANT

A spellbinding, epic and heart-racing magical adventure from an exquisite new storytelling talent.

'An unexpected gem of a story . . . A stellar setting, a gut-punch of a twist, and an unforgettable heroine. This has all the hallmarks of classic children's storytelling' - Nizrana Farook author, The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

'A wonderful writer who paints a thoroughly convincing heroine' - The Daily Telegraph

India, 1855. The British rule, and all across the country, Indian magic is being stamped out. More terrifying still, people born with magic are being snatched from their homes. Rumor is that they are being taken across the sea - to England - by the all-powerful, sinister Company.

When Chompa's home is attacked and her mother viciously kidnapped, Chompa - born with powerful and dangerous magic that she has always been forbidden from using - must travel to the smoky, bustling streets of East London in search of her. But Chompa will discover far more treachery in London than she had bargained for - and will learn that every act of her rare magic comes with a price . . .

'A gripping and spellbinding fantasy woven together with threads of magic, secrets and colonial history . . . An incredible cast of characters and a truly multicultural Victorian London that we don't see often enough' - Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author, Dadaji's Paintbrush

'A wonderfully vibrant debut . . . A vivid magical adventure' - Jasbinder Bilan, author, Ash and the Spirit Bird

Pages - 384

Binding - Paperback

Publisher - Puffin

Publication Date - 2024-05-28

ISBN - 9780241567487

Your cart

0 items

Your cart is empty